Citizens for Melbourne Inc. Committee

The Our City, Our Square campaigned is convened by The Citizens for Melbourne Inc., which is made up of:

Tania Davidge, President
Tania is an architect, writer, researcher and co-founder of the architectural research practice OpenHAUS. Her research focuses on the relationship of people and communities to architecture, cities and public space. Through her practice, Tania is focused on what makes a vibrant and engaging public realm.

Brett De Hoedt, Vice President
Brett runs marketing consultancy Hootville Communications which works predominately with nonprofits around campaigning and communications. He was previously a television publicist, radio presenter and print journalist.

Shelley Freeman, Treasurer
Shelley is a mother, architect, sessional tertiary educator and tour guide with Melbourne Architours. She has been living, playing, protesting and raising a family in Melbourne for over 20 years and is a passionate advocate for our built environment.

James Lesh, Secretary
James is a passionate Melburnian and researcher of cultural heritage and urban history. He has lived, studied and worked in London, Manchester and Berlin, and spends his spare time in public spaces.

Melinda Ovens

Michael Smith
Michael is an architect and director of the architecture practice Atelier Red+Black. As a vocal advocate for the quality of the built environment, he is also a writer for Fairfax and the architecture website The Red+Black Architect.

Rohan Storey
Rohan is an architectural and urban historian and heritage consultant. Working for the National Trust for over 20 years, he developed an understanding of the heritage and planning systems in Victoria, and a special interest in the history of Melbourne’s CBD. In 2010 he was founding member of Melbourne Heritage Action, a group dedicated to the protection of the unique heritage of Melbourne’s central city area.